Class of 2016 Honors and Award

Congratulations to the class of 2016 on their many accomplishments! Here are just a few examples:

$33.8 million in college and university scholarships

Military Academies
Michael Fantini – U.S. Air Force Academy
Gabriella Baltimore - U.S. Naval Academy
Briana Broccoli – U.S. Merchant Marine Academy

ROTC Scholarship
Caroline Mitchell – U.S. Army ROTC – Marquette University

Entering the Corps of Cadets
Christina Nguyen – Virginia Tech
Trevor Nunes – Virginia Military Institute

National Merit Scholarship Program
Virginia Schilder - Finalist
Alex Damjanovic – Commended Student
Maureen Duesterhaus – Commended Student
Diego Garcia – Commended Student
Thomas Giuseppe – Commended Student
Emma Meng – Commended Student
Alexandra Rodriguez – Commended Student
Jacob Vanaman – Commended Student
David Williams – Commended Student

Alexandra Rodriguez

Marissa Luna

Praetor (Graduating with the third highest honors, and introducing commencement speaker)
Maureen Duesterhaus

Class of 2016 Honors Presented at Commencement
Kathryn Baker – General Excellence Award
Colum Bergeron – Outstanding Leadership Award
Grace Boras – Student Athlete Award
Mary Bothwell – German Award
Kristina Colevas – Immaculata Award
Mary Dawson – Al Burch Award
Maureen Duesterhaus – English Award, Spanish Award, General Excellence Award
Olivia Eichner – Latin Award, General Excellence Award
Diego Garcia – General Excellence Award
Christian Holloman – Student Athlete Award
Sarah Kelley – Business & Finance Award
Phillip Koch – Art Award
Jaikun Lin – Physics Award
Marissa Luna – Social Studies Award, Outstanding Leadership Award, General Excellence Award
Caroline Mitchell – Monsignor Maioriello Award
Riley Paul – Al Burch Award
Sean Pazirandeh – Outstanding Leadership Award
Julia Pipan – Chorus Award
Alexandra Rodriguez – Chemistry Award, General Excellence Award
Dave Salas – Immaculata Award
Virginia Schilder – Biology Award, French Award, General Excellence Award
Graceann Schuck – Gertrude Kennedy Award
Anthony Snarr – Computer Science
Claire Stemberger – General Excellence Award
Edmund Terwilliger – Mathematics Award
Christian Tran – Outstanding Leadership Award
Albert Ujevic – Religion Award
Jacob Vanaman – Instrumental Music Award, General Excellence Award
MaryFrances Vorbach – IHM Joyful Service Award
Walter Whitt – Gertrude Kennedy Award, General Excellence Award
Zachary Wilson – Richard Martin Award, General Excellence Award

Global Studies Certificates
Read more about this O'Connell certificate program.
Tatum Andres
Mannal Babar
Kathryn Baker
Hanna DeMeester
Olivia Eichner
Bailey Gabrielli
Diego Garcia
John LeMargaret Loudy
Maite Marchesini
Emma Meng
Alexandra Rodriguez
Jacob Vanaman
Isabel Fernandez
MaryFrances Vorbach

Distinguished Honors
Earning a grade of A- or better in all subjects throughout senior year
Liam Behan
Andrew DiNunzio
Michael Fantini
Isabel Fernandez
Maureen Duesterhaus
Marissa Luna
Christina Nguyen
Virginia Schilder
Emily Shawkey
Zachary Wilson

Student-Athlete Commitments
Ako Adams (Basketball) – Rice University
Drew Bonner (Football) - Ave Maria University
Grace Boras (Soccer) - Catholic University
Corey Burch (Baseball) - Roanoke College
Janiya Clemmons (Basketball) – Columbia University
Alex Damjanovic (Crew) - Colgate University
Will DiGiulian (Baseball) - Patrick Henry College
Grace Fisher (Ice Hockey) - University of Massachusetts Boston
Randall Gaskins (Basketball) – St. Francis University
Olivia Giaquinto (Softball) – Harvard University
Alicia Gonzales (Basketball) – Case Western Reserve University
Myles Hudzick (Football) - Duke University
Brandon Magee (Football) - Robert Morris University
JayJay McCargo (Football) - University of North Carolina
Maggie McLaughlin (Ice Hockey) - St. Lawrence University
Patrick Ryan (Baseball) – College of William & Mary
Jared Saunders (Soccer) - Arcadia University
Alexandra Simonson (Lacrosse) - Shenandoah University
Jasmine Taylor (Basketball) – Boston College
Sherron Thompson (Dance) - Old Dominion University
Raffi Vazquez (Baseball) – Coastal Carolina University
Landan Word (Football) - University of Virginia

The Washington Post All-Met First Teams
Robert Burnham (Ice Hockey)
Olivia Giaquinto (Softball)
Rafi Vazquez (Baseball)

Civic Group Awards/Essay and Oratorical Contest Winners
Kathryn Baker – Optimist Oratorical Contest (Alexandria)
Sean Coggin – Knights of Columbus Oration Contest (Diamond Council)
Olivia Eichner – Optimist Essay Contest (Arlington)
Andrew Janis – Optimist Good Government Award (Alexandria)
Katherine Katz – Colonel Seoane Essay Contest
Cristina Pizzano – Good Citizenship Award (Daughters of the American Revolution)
Alexandra Rodriguez – 1st Place State Oratorical Contest (Sons of the American Revolution)
Alexandra Rodriguez – Colonel Seoane Essay Contest
Virginia Schilder – Rotary Scholarship Essay Contest (Falls Church)
Dylan Seagraves – Knights of Columbus Oration Contest (Diamond Council)

More Information

Read more and view photos from the 56th Commencement Exercise.

View a list of colleges and universities where the Class of 2016 is enrolling in the fall.