Class of 2017 Honors and Awards

Congratulations to the class of 2017 on their many accomplishments! Here are just a few examples:

$21 million in college and university scholarships

Military Academies
David Koehlmoos – U.S. Military Academy (West Point)
Isabell Baltimore - U.S. Naval Academy Foundation Award

ROTC Scholarship
Cameron Cairnie - U.S. Navy ROTC - University of California, Davis
Zachary Toth - U.S. Air Force ROTC - Penn State
Andrew Tucker - U.S. Army ROTC - Old Dominion University

Entering the Corps of Cadets
Nathaniel Feild – Virginia Military Institute

National Merit Scholarship Program
Grace Halford - Finalist
Harold Amoss - Commended Student
Luke Brinkmann - Commended Student
Caroline Jones - Commended Student
John Mai - Commended Student
Katherine Mendell - Commended Student
Gabriel Rizk - Commended Student
Miranda Smith - Commended Student
John Svoboda - Commended Student
Agatha Tatang - Commended Student
Brooke Tran - Commended Student
Eleanor Vaughn - Commended Student

Brooke Tran

Luke Brinkmann

Praetor (Graduating with the third highest honors, and introducing commencement speaker)
Caroline Jones

Class of 2017 Honors Presented at Commencement
Domenic Allegra – Instrumental Music Award
Harold Amoss – Physics Award
Katherine Boehm – General Excellence Award
Luke Brinkmann – Social Studies Award, Student Athlete Award, The Immaculata Award, General Excellence Award
Besa Bucaj – Latin Award
Loc Cao – Chemistry Award
Jinlee Colucci-Chang – Monsignor Gabriel T. Maioriello Award
Ariana Darui – Spanish Award
Lucie Drahozal – The Immaculata Award
Keith Evans – Gertrude Kennedy Award
Anjolaoluwa Fashanu – Religion Award
Jessica Gliot – Chorus Award
Grace Halford – General Excellence Award
Leah Hammes – Student Athlete Award
Caroline Jones – The IHM, Joyful Service Award, General Excellence Award
Paul Magee – The Al Burch Award
Sophia Marra – General Excellence Award
Katherine Mendell – Mathematics Award, General Excellence Award
Rickie Miller – Art Award
Sierra Moore – Business & Finance Award, Gertrude Kennedy Award
Sydney Morrow – General Excellence Award
Julie Nguyen – General Excellence Award
Erin Nihill – The Al Burch Award
Lillian Saunders – Leadership Award
Geiani Snidle – Leadership Award
Luke Stievater – Leadership Award
John Svoboda – Computer Science Award
Brooke Tran – English Award, Biology Award, General Excellence Award
Ellen Ward – French Award, Leadership Award
Eleanor Vaughn – German Award, General Excellence Award

Global Studies Certificates
Read more about this O'Connell certificate program.
Thomas Bascom Jr.
Besa Bucaj
Julian-Michael Castro
Angela Cottini
Alejandro Di Napoli-Castaneda
Anjolaoluwa Fashanu
Victoria Gordon
Katherine Hales
Caroline Jones
Katherine Mendell
Thu Viet Nguyen
Andrew Oudkirk
Gabriel Rizk
Miranda Smith
john Svoboda
Agatha Tatang

Distinguished Honors
Earning a grade of A- or better in all subjects throughout senior year
Jake Asuncion
Luke Brinkmann
Janee Burch
Grace Halford
Caroline Jones
Sophia Marra
Katherine Mendell
Lorena Meruvia
LaDan Nemati
Julie Nguyen
Quang Nguyen
Gabriel Rizk
Martha Stevens
Agatha Tatang
Brooke Tran
Ngo Thuc Oanh Tran
Eleanor Vaughn

Student-Athlete Commitments
Isabell Baltimore (Track) - U.S. Naval Academy
Sebastian Bonte (Golf) - University of Mary Washington
Sydney Catron (Swimming) - New York University
Josie Davis-Allen (Soccer) - DeSales University
Keith Evans (Football) - Chowan University"
Gigi Foster (Soccer) - University of North Carolina Wilmington
Jake Hahn (Lacrosse) - Florida Tech
Amari Johnson (Football) - St. Augustine University
Kadin Kightlinger (Lacrosse) - Gettysburg College
Matt Lewis (Basketball) - James Madison University
Will Liverpool (Baseball) - West Virginia University
Sophia Marra (Ice Hockey) - Wesleyan University
Luis Ochoa (Soccer) - Marymount University
Patty Maye Ohanian (Softball) - University of Virginia
To'ren Pride (Football) - Hampton University
Claudia Reing (Crew) - St. Joseph’s University
Ethan Torres (Football) - Bucknell University
Sara Tucker (Track & Field) - Virginia Wesleyan College
Kayla Turner (Softball) - Morgan State University
Stacey Watts Jr. (Football) - Frostburg State University
Nate Watson (Basketball) - Providence College

The Washington Post All-Met First Teams
Sebastien Bonte (Golf)
Gigi Foster (Soccer)
Maxine Friedman (Volleyball)
Nate Watson (Basketball)

Civic Group Awards/Essay and Oratorical Contest Winners
Harold Amoss - Rotary Music Competition (Falls Church)
Besa Bucaj - Virginia Right to Life Oratorical Contest (O'Connell)
Keith Evans - Optimists Oratorical Contest (Arlington)
Michael Hails - Knights of Columbus Right to Life Oratorical Contest (Father Diamond Council)
Caroline Jones - Optimists Community Service Essay Contest (Arlington)
Susana Juarez-Rodriguez - Rotary International Service Essay Contest (Falls Church)
Sarah Lawler - Daughters of the American Revolution Citizenship Award

More Information