Nine National Merit Commended Students

Congratulations to nine Bishop O'Connell seniors who were named as Commended Students in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program:

Tyler Dittmer
Matthew Ehlers
Julia Jones
Gabriela Matheu
Harrison McBride
Caitlin Mea
Selene Swanson
Seth Viani
Annemarie Wolf

About 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Although they will not continue in the 2018 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended Students placed among the top 50,000 scorers of more than 1.6 million students who entered the 2018 competition by taking the 2016 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).

"The young men and women being named Commended Students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success," commented a spokesperson for NMSC. "These students represent a valuable resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation. WE hope that this recognition will help broaden their educational opportunities and encourage them as they continue their pursuit of academic success."

Photo below: the O'Connell Commended Students are joined by Mr. Carl Patton, assistant head of school (far left) and Sister Catherine Hill '66, IHM, dean of academics (left) and Dr. Joseph Vorbach '83, head of school (far right).

National Merit Commended Students