Board 2019-2020

The Bishop O'Connell Board of Governors, a board of limited jurisdiction, has been selected to participate in decision-making in designated areas of responsibility. These areas include planning, policy formulation/enactment, finances, care for the facility, and advancement activities including public relations and marketing. The board is deliberative in the area of finance.

Governors are the custodians of the integrity of the organization; they hold in trust the organization's reputation and mission as created by its founders, and as developed by those who have shaped the organization in the past. Current governors accept the obligation to not only preserve, but also add to this organization. In this way, governors help form not only the present, but also the future composition and direction of the organization.


Mr. Samuel Starr, Chairman
Ms. Dede O'Donnell '73, Vice-Chair

Mr. Murlin W. Altoft, Chief Financial Officer
Mr. Carl Anderson '99
Mr. William Arendt
Mr. Jason Baltimore
Sister Mary Sue Carwile, I.H.M. '73
Ms. Bobbie Clinton
Rev. Frederick Edlefsen
Mr. Mark Escobar
Mr. Doug Gehley '72
Ms. Meg Hogan-McGovern
Mrs. Sheila Leverone '82
Mrs. Elizabeth Lewarne
Sister Lorraine McGrew, I.H.M., Interim Head of School
Mr. Carl Patton, Principal
Rev. James Searby
Rev. Gregory Thompson, Chaplain
Dr. Joseph E. Vorbach '83, Superintendent of Schools, Diocese of Arlington