Quicklinks
page tools :
Home >
Student Life > Clubs and Organizations
Bishop O'Connell High School
Social Media Mashup

Clubs and Organizations

Helping HandsAs a student at Bishop O'Connell High School, you are encouraged to balance your studies with an extracurricular life that helps feed your spirit. Beyond your classroom and homework responsibilities, a diverse number of positive ways in which your time and energy can be invested awaits you.

Whether your interest is in debate, photography or service, there is a club for you at Bishop O'Connell. More than 60 clubs, organizations and honor societies occupy our students' time and talents. Most clubs have a regular meeting time after school (such as the third Thursday of the month) and several offer more extensive time commitments. A Club Fair is held at the beginning of every school year to familiarize all students with the mission and activities of each group.

Current groups include:

AGAINST ANIMAL CRUELTY ASSOCIATION (AACA)
Moderator:
 Sr. Anne Marie (sannemarie@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings: TBD 

ALTAR SOCIETY
Moderator:  Fr. Thompson (frgthompson@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings: During Advisory on B1 schedule days. 
Interested students assist in setting up for school liturgies and serving Mass throughout the year as altar servers and ushers.

AMERICAN SIGN LANGUAGE CLUB
Moderator:
Mrs. Mihalich (bmihalich@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings: TBD 

ANIME CLUB
Moderator: Mrs. Henry (chenry@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings: Every Monday at 3 p.m. in room 327.
The Anime Club is a chance for students to enjoy and discuss Japanese animation.  Students also enjoy Japanese/Asian snacks and learn a bit of Japanese language and culture.

ART CLUB
Moderator:  Mr. Crivella (jcrivella@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings:  1st and 3rd Thursdays in room 303.
This club provides an art experience for students who are not able to register for art classes. Activities include the display and general care of posters and bulletin boards throughout the school.

ASIAN AMERICAN STUDENT ASSOCIATION
Moderator:
Dr. Stabile (dstabile@bishopoconnell.org
Meetings: TBD

ATHLETIC/GAME DAY MANAGEMENT CLUB
Moderator:
Mr. Heeter (cheeter@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings:
TBD

AUDIO-VISUAL CLUB
Moderator:
Mr. Andrews (dandrews@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings:
Every other Wednesday in room 300.

BEST BUDDIES
Moderator:
Mrs. Stabile (mstabile@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings:
TBD

CHESS CLUB
Moderator:
Mr. Holland (mholland@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings:
TBD

CHINESE CULTURE CLUB
Moderator: Mrs. McDonald (mmcdonald@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings: TBA

COMMUNION AND LIBERATION YOUTH GROUP
Moderator:
Fr. Benetti (mbenetti@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings:  TBD

CYBER KNIGHTS
Moderator: Mr. Andrews (dandrews@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings:  Every Wednesday in room 300

DEBATE
Moderator:  Mrs. Mihalick (bmihalick@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings:  Wednesdays, Room 320 at 3 p.m.
The purpose of this club is to develop research, organization, public speaking, spontaneous thinking, and analytical skills as well as teamwork. Membership requirements include above average academic standing for any grade level.

DESTINATION IMAGINATION CLUB
Moderator: Mr. Bernhard (mbernhard@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings:TBD

DIGITAL PHOTOGRAPHY CLUB
Moderator: Ms. Carr (jcarr@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings:  2nd and 4th Wednesday in room 302
The Photo Club welcomes students who enjoy photography and would like to develop their skills by sharing techniques and ideas.  No experience necessary.  Club meetings may include group discussions, field trips, and presentationsDRAMA

DRAMA
Moderator:
Ms. Zimmerman (szimmerman@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings:
TBD

FOOSBALL CLUB
Moderator: Fr. Benetti (mbenetti@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings:
TBD 

ECOLOGY CLUB
Moderator: Mr. Britt (nbritt@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings: 1st and 3rd Thursday in room 236.

ESSAY AND ORATORICAL CLUB
Moderator:  Mrs. Wentzel (mwentzel@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings:  Interested students my email Mrs. Wentzel for questions, further information and entry sheets.
Each year, students may enter one of over 40 contests for monetary awards and/or publication of their works of art, poetry or essays.  Students have won more than $50,000 over the past five years.  Information regarding contests is in the daily bulletin or posted outside room 326. 

FASHION AND DESIGN CLUB
Moderator: Ms. Carr (jcarr@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings:   2nd and 4th Tuesdays in room 302, at 3:15 p.m.  Announced in Daily Bulletin
The Fashion and Design Club brings together students with similar interests in fashion marketing, design, interior decorating, beauty and more.  Club officers promote open discussions and brainstorming among members at meetings which often include guest speakers.  Students raise money to fund special after-school activities and work towards producing a Prom Fashion Show at the end of the year. 

FRENCH CLUB
Moderator:  Ms. Webb (wwebb@bishopoconnell.org
Meetings:  TBD
The French Club seeks to stimulate interest in the French language, France and its culture.  Membership is open to students of all levels who are interested in France, its language and culture.

FRENCH EXCHANGE PROGRAM
Moderator:  Mr. Hobson (shobson@bishopoconnell.org)
French students interested participating in the school's exchange program with our sister school in Rheims, France should contact Mrs. McCarty.

FRENCH HONOR SOCIETY
Moderator:  Ms. Webb (wwebb@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings:  TBD
This group fosters an appreciation for the French culture, honors best French students, participates in school charity drives, and hosts French speaking guests. Membership is open to students who have had two years of French and a grade average of 93 or higher.

FUTURE BUSINESS LEADERS OF AMERICA (FBLA)
Moderator: Ms. Fratrik (nfratrik@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings: Last Wednesday of the month.

GAMES DESIGN WITH GIRLS IN MIND:
Moderators: Mrs. Scott (tscott@bishopoconnell.org) and Mrs. Gonsalves (egonsalves@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings: Every Monday in rm 300

GAMING CLUB
Moderator: Mr. Andrews (dandrews@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings: Thursdays in room 202.

GERMAN CLUB
Moderator:  Mrs. Stabile (mstabile@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings:  TBD
The German Club is designed to stimulate interest in Germany, its language and culture; and to provide activities of a less formal nature to supplement the German curriculum. Oktoberfest and Christmas celebrations are planned. Membership is open to students of all grades who exhibit a strong interest.

GERMAN HONOR SOCIETY
Moderator:  Mrs. Stabile (mstabile@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings:  TBD
The purpose of this group is to honor excellence in the study of the German language and culture, and to lend service to other German students in need of tutoring. Members must be in the last three semesters of study and possess at least an 85 average in other academic subjects.  The Honor Society works with the German Club and provides tutoring and a service project.

GUITAR CLUB
Moderator:  Mr. Sullivan (ksullivan@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings:  TBD
This club is comprised of students interested in guitar playing.  Fellow guitar and bass guitar players meet to share songs, tips, techniques and other ideas.

HABITAT FOR HUMANITY
Moderator: Ms. Monge (jmonge@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings: TBD
The purpose of this club is to share our Catholic faith by living it out in service to our community.

HEALTH SERVICES CLUB
Moderator:  Mrs. Black (kblack@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings:  TBD
Two major blood drives during the school year are organized by this club. One is held in the fall and the other in the spring. Membership is open to all students.

INTERACT
Moderator: Ms. Wentzel (mwentzel@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings: 1st Thursdays in room 326.

IT’S ACADEMIC
Moderators: Mr. Holland (mholland@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings:  Daily Monday – Thursday through November and then weekly through May.
The It’s Academic Club is a group of trivia-filled students who meet to practice for competitions.  The club participates in three major competitions.  These include It’s Academic, a televised academic quiz competition for high school students airing on NBC, as well as the Winter and Spring Knowledge Master Open.  All interested students are welcome to be a part of the team.

KEYETTES
Moderator:  Mrs. Graif, Mrs. Koranek (sgraif@bishopoconnell.org or skoranek@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings:  1st Monday of each month (2nd if no school) Room 114 at 3 p.m.
For membership each girl must show that she is willing to donate time and energy and must maintain at least a "C" average. This club is open to sophomores, juniors, and seniors. Application for membership is made in the spring for the following school year.

LADY KNIGHTS GOLF CLUB
Moderator:  Mr. Meinsen (kmeinsen@bishopoconnell.org
Meetings:  Bi-weekly starting October 18 and November 8.
The O’Connell Ladies Golf Club is committed to providing an opportunity for ladies to play, learn, and enjoy the game of golf.  Membership is open to all O’Connell ladies, from beginners to advanced players.

LARGESSE
Moderator: Mr. Meehan (jmeehan@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings:   Every Tuesday, Room 320, at 3 p.m.
The Largesse is a literary/art magazine.  The purpose of the Largesse is to publish student are, poetry, prose and photography in a creative arts magazine and consequently stimulate interest in the creative arts.  Students who demonstrate skill and/or enthusiasm for the creative arts are encouraged to join.

LATIN HONOR SOCIETY
Moderator:  Mrs. A. Cunningham (acunningham@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings:  Meets with Latin Club
The Latin Honor Society fosters an appreciation for Roman culture and civilization, honors best Latin students, and participates in school charity drives.  Membership requirement is a grade 90 or above for three consecutive semesters.  These students are obligated to tutor other Latin students who need assistance.

MATH  CLUB
Moderators: Ms. MacDonald (kmacdonald@bishopoconnell.org) and Mr. Gerton (pgerton@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings:  TBD
The club sponsors Virginia Math League Contests.  Contests are held throughout the year and all students are eligible to compete.

MEDICAL MISSIONARIES CLUB
Moderator:
Mrs. Wentzel (mwentzel@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings:
3rd Thursdays in room 326.
This club raises awareness about the needs of the poorest of the poor in developing countries. Funraising helps provide necessary medial supplies and monetary funds to the Medical Missionaries organization.

MODEL UNITED NATIONS
Moderator: Ms. Monge (jmonge@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings:  Every Wednesday or Thursday, Room 124, at 3:15 p.m.
The Bishop O’Connell Model United Nations Club is an organization where participants represent a country in the United Nations during different conferences that we participate in.  In order to join this club it is not necessary to be comfortable or be able to speak publicly.

MU ALPHA THETA
NATIONAL HIGH SCHOOL MATHEMATICS HONOR SOCIETY
Moderator: Mr. Bernhard (mbernhard@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings: TBA

NAP CLUB
Moderator:
Mr. Buckreis (rbuckreis@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings:
TBD
The purpose of this club is to effectively rest students to be better citizens in the community and to raise awareness of sleep-related needs around the world. The club has raised funds to donate mosquito netting to developing countries around the world.

NATIONAL HONOR SOCIETY
Moderator:  Mr. Cassidy (rcassidy@bishopoconnell.org)
Click on the link above for more information on the Bishop Russell Chapter of the National Honor Society.

PAGEMASTERS
Moderator:  Mrs.  A. Cunningham (acunninghma@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings:  Wednesday, twice a month, Room 314
The purpose of this club is to provide its members with a wider and more diverse experience of the wilds and frontiers of literature.  The goal is to expose the members to as many style and genres as possible while at the same time revealing the intensity and entertainment to be harvested from reading.

PHILOSOPHY CLUB
Moderator: Mr. Cools (rcools@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings: TBA

PRO-LIFE CLUB
Moderator:  Mr. Glasow and Ms. Funk (dglasow@bishopoconnell.org or afunk@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings:   TBD
The purpose of this club is to organize various pro-life activities--prayer, petition circulation, and writing letters to government officials.

RHO KAPPA SOCIAL STUDIES NATIONAL HONOR SOCIETY
Moderator: Mr. Haas (ghaas@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings: TBD

ROBOTICS CLUB
Moderator: Mr. Gerton (pgerton@bishopoconnell.org) and Mr. Renekamp
Meetings: Mondays in room 235.
The club's goal is to build and program robots to compete in robotics competition.

ROCKETRY CLUB
Moderator: Mr. Barnett (mbarnett@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings: TBD

SADD – STUDENTS AGAINST DESTRUCTIVE DECISIONS CLUB
Moderator:  Mr. Owens (dowens@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings:  TBD
This club is open to all students.  It is a peer leadership organization dedicated to preventing destructive decisions, particularly underage drinking.  Members of the SADD Club participate in the annual SADD Walks for MADD as well as Dead Day and the annual SADD Assembly.

SCA (STUDENT COUNCIL ASSOCIATION)
Moderator:  Mrs. O'Reilly (coreilly@bishopoconnell.org), Mrs. Borgiasz (bborgiasz@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings:  Monthly
The purpose of the SCA is to cooperate with the administration/faculty in the promotion of high standards of education in conjunction with the development in each person of a knowledge of the Christian faith and a devotion to God; to foster school spirit through planning, coordinating, and executing of various activities for the student body; to promote a good relationship between the administration/faculty and the students; to represent the students' concerns to the administration/faculty; and to promote the general welfare of the Bishop O'Connell community.   The SCA is also in charge of numerous school wide activities like the Christ House Soup Drive and Superdance.

SOCIAL JUSTICE CLUB
Moderator:  Mr. Cummings (dcummings@bishopoconnell.org
Meetings:  Last Thursday of each month, Room 220 at 3 p.m.
Membership is open to all students who are concerned about global problems.  We will be discussing hunger, human rights and other important issues.

SPANISH CLUB
Moderator:  Mrs. Pacheco (kpacheco@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings:  TBD
The purpose of the Spanish Club is to strengthen class work by practice with other students, especially native speakers; visit areas where the target tongue is heard and gain enthusiasm in Spanish culture. Membership is open to any student enrolled in a Spanish class at O'Connell.

SPANISH HONOR SOCIETY 
Moderator:  
Ms. Yanine (fyanine@bishopoconnell.org
Meetings: TBD
The Spanish Honor Society's purpose is to promote an appreciation for the Spanish and Hispanic culture and a continuity of interest in Hispanic studies. Members must have maintained a 90 average or higher for three consecutive semesters.

SPANISH TUTORING SOCIETY
Moderator:  Mrs. Rubio (mrubio@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings:  Mondays,Tuesdays, Wednesdays during Knight Time, in room 312, at 3 p.m.
Members of the Spanish Tutoring Society are Spanish Honor Society members who volunteer to tutor struggling Spanish Level 1, 2, and 3 students.  Tutoring takes place Tuesdays, Wednesday and /or Thursday afternoons.  Tutoring is free.

SPIRIT and LEADERSHIP TEAM
Moderator:  Ms. Funk (afunk@bishopoconnell.org) and Mr. Blaser (jblaser@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings:  TBD
This club meets and goes to various games. The idea of the club is to allow students more access to O’Connell social venues. The club actively supports all O’Connell service projects and athletic events.

STOCK AND FINANCE CLUB
Moderator:  Mr. Betthauser (wbetthauser@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings: Wednesdays in room 202.

STUDENT TRAINERS
Moderator:  Mr. Tillson (dtillson@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings:  See Mr. Tillson in the training room for information.
Student trainers assist the Certified Athletic Trainer with the care of injuries to athletes. Work 2 – 3 days a week, all year if possible, in the training room, at practices, and games.  Provide first aid, preventive taping, and team water to athletes.  Assist with rehabilitation treatments and the daily operation of the athletic training program.  Work in a fun environment with fellow students and the Certified Athletic Trainers.  Meet other students with similar interests and get to know a whole other side of O’Connell.

TEENS AGAINST CANCER
Moderator:  Mr. Cresson (mcresson@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings:  Last Monday of the month, Room 202, at 3:15 p.m.
This club’s goal is to raise funds and provide support for those affected by cancer.  The club plans to work on projects such as Christmas gift baskets to Children’s Hospital cancer patients and ordering small cakes for birthdays in addition to birthday cards.

TRI-M MUSIC HONOR SOCIETY
Moderator: Mr. Kadeli (pkadeli@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings: 1st Wednesdays in the band room. 

UNITY COUNCIL
Moderator:  Mr. Edmondson (aedmondson@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings: TBD
For the latest news and activities from this group, CLICK HERE.

VISOR NEWSPAPER
Moderator:  Mr. Culler (dculler@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings:  TBD
The VISOR staff undertakes production of a newspaper once each month that reflects the O'Connell community. Membership is open to all students.

YEARBOOK
Moderator: Ms. McDonald (mmcdonald@bishopoconnell.org)

YOUNG DEMOCRATS
Moderator:  Mr. Sullivan (ksullivan@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings:  TBD
This club is to raise the awareness about the Democratic Party.

YOUNG MEN'S EXECUTIVE CLUB
Moderator:
Mr. Owens (dowens@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings:
1st and 3rd Thursdays of the month.
Read more HERE...

YOUNG REPUBLICANS

Moderator: Mr. Altoft (maltoft@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings:  TBD
This club is to raise the awareness about the Republican Party.

YOUNG WOMEN'S LEADERSHIP CLUB
Moderators: Ms. Fratrik (nfratrik@bishopoconnell.org)
Meetings: TBD

 


email page print page large type small type
powered by finalsite