Team Details

Lacrosse - Girls Varsity


2017 Girls Varsity Lacrosse Team

Team Overview

The mission of the Bishop O’Connell girls lacrosse program is to provide each player with an educational and meaningful experience. The lacrosse program emphasizes the values of respect, sportsmanship, responsibility and dedication and focuses on success on the field and in the classroom. The program consists of two levels, junior varsity and varsity. The girls varsity team competes in two very competitive conferences, the WCAC (Washington Catholic Athletic Conference) and the VISAA (Virginia Independent School Athletic Association).

If you are interested in playing lacrosse at Bishop O’Connell we want to hear from you. Send us your contact information and we’ll add you to our distribution list.


Sarah Burrowbridge Named Head Coach - June 2015

College Commitments - 2015
Shannon Cross: University of California, Davis

USLacrosse All-Academic Team
Five players from the girls varsity lacrosse team were named All-Academic by USLacrosse for the 2014 season:
Elisabeth Healy (Class of 2014)
Mariel Cardenas (Class of 2015)
Shannon Cross (Class of 2015)
Mackenzie Nihill (Class of 2015)
Megan Plombon (Class of 2015)


All-WCAC 2014
1st Team: Elisabeth Healy, Shannon Cross
Honorable Mention: Tara Ulepic, Kaitlin Wilson, Mariel Cardenas, Mackenzie Nihill

All-Met 2014
Honorable Mention: Mariel Cardenas

All-State VISAA Division 1 - 2014
2nd Team: Mariel Cardenas

2016 Season


Madison/Annandale Spring Invitational Girls Lacrosse Tournament
Annandale High School
Loss 2-13
Osbourn Park/Annandale Spring Invitational Girls Lacrosse Tournament
Annandale High School
Win 21-1
Annandale/Annandale Spring Invitational Girls Lacrosse Tournament
Annandale High School
Win 18-2


Team Roster

# Name Grade
2 Eavan Snellings 10
3 Grace DiLuigi 10
4 Taraneh Samadani 9
5 Lillian Saunders 12
7 Melanie Shaffer 11
8 Alena Herrera 10
9 Regina Pizzano 9
10 Gabriella Pirozzoli 11
11 Carina Ritcheson 10
12 Bridget O'Brien 11
13 Olivia Pope 10
14 Lilian Price 10
15 Emma Nowakowski 10
16 Jessica Seager 11
17 Kaitlyn Arcari 11
18 Sarah Yoest 10
19 Margaret McDonough 10
20 Grace Cook 11
21 Kirsten Knauf 11
23 Madeline Cadin 10
24 Erin Nihill 12
25 Isabel David 10
31 Regan Morche 11



Head Coach
Sarah Burrowbridge

Originally from New Jersey, Coach Burrowbridge received her bachelor’s degree from the College of William & Mary, where she was a midfielder/defender for the lacrosse team. She earned her master’s in education from American University.

Coach Burrowbridge began her high school coaching career at Holy Cross High School in New Jersey where the team competed for the state title. More recently, she has coached locally at Wilson High School in D.C. and Hayfield Secondary in Alexandria, where she built a successful program.  She also co-runs CRASH lacrosse club.

Burrowbridge is an elementary school teacher. She and her husband, Adam, have three boys.

Select a Team

Upcoming Events

There are no events to display